Losing Your License after a DWI Arrest

Home/Uncategorized/Losing Your License after a DWI Arrest

Imagine not being able to take a trip to the grocery store, drive your children to school or visit your parents across the state. Drivers who have been arrested for a DWI in Texas can quickly lose their license privileges, even before their criminal court case takes place.

When a driver is arrested for a DWI, they will not only have criminal charges pressed against them, but there will also be a civil proceeding to determine whether or not their license will be suspended before the criminal court case takes place. Called an Administrative License Revocation (ALR) proceeding, the driver must request this hearing within 15 days of their arrest to try to prevent the loss of their driving privileges.

While it is possible to apply for and attend this hearing on your own, it is a difficult case to win without experience and knowledge in criminal law proceedings. This is one of the many reasons that it is important to hire a criminal defense lawyer right away if you are stopped for drunk driving in Texas.

If you have refused to submit to a breath or blood test or have failed one and do not apply for an ALR proceeding, your driver’s license will be suspended 40 days after the incident. Prevent this unsettling and frustrating loss from occurring by calling Hill & Hill Attorneys at Law immediately following your DWI arrest. With over 20 years of experience in the criminal law field, we are able to provide a strong and knowledgeable defense for you. Contact us online or by calling our Denton, Texas office at 1-866-369-2889.

2017-05-02T22:36:19+00:00