DENTON DWI / DUI DRUNK DRIVING LAWYERS
Texas drunk driving laws are strict and seem to get harsher every year. There have even been attempts to arrest people for being drunk in bars, before they have even headed toward their cars.
If you have been arrested for DUI/DWI/Drunk driving, whether it’s your first offense or your third offense, a misdemeanor or a felony, contact a Denton DUI/DWI attorney at Hill & Hill as soon as possible for legal advice you can count on.
We have a successful track record of defending people against charges of drunk driving and other alcohol-related crimes, including driving while intoxicated (DWI), driving under the influence (DUI), public intoxication (PI), minor in possession of Alcohol (MIP).
The Penalties You Can Expect From a DUI/DWI Conviction
Texas DWI/DUI penalties are severe and include mandatory minimum jail time even for first offenses. DWI charges are “enhanceable,” meaning the potential penalties become even more severe if you have prior DWI convictions. Therefore, it’s essential that you take your DWI/DUI charges very seriously – even if it is your first offense.
If you are facing charges in Denton or Cooke County here in Texas, you should contact The Law Office of Brent Hill or a similarly qualified DUI/DWI defense attorney as soon as possible. There are time limits on how long you have to file to save your license, so the sooner you act the better.
Here are a few of the penalties you can expect if you are convicted of DUI or DWI in the state of Texas. Keep in mind they grow with severity when included with other charges, such as manslaughter, DWI with a child passenger, and DWI that causes serious bodily injury:
- First Offense – Fines up to $2000, Jail time of up to 180 days, and a License Suspension of up to a year. If your BAC is at least .15, both the fine and jail time limits double for a first offense.
- Second Offense – Fines up to $4000, Jail time of up to 1 year, and a License Suspension of up to two years.
- Third Offense – This is a felony charge. Fines up to $10,000, a maximum of 10 years in prison, and a 2-year license suspension.
- The suspension of your driver’s license for a long time, possibly even permanently
- Surcharges totaling into the thousands that will be due to the Texas DPS each year for three years after your conviction.
- Mandatory participation in DWI and alcohol/drug education programs
- Evaluation for counseling, participation in which may also be required
- The installation of an IID or DLD device on your vehicle that would test your BAC before allowing you to start your car
- A variety of other possible court costs and administrative fees
What You Should Do If Pulled Over in Denton or Cooke County for Suspicion of Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol
Here are some helpful DOs and DON’Ts to follow if you are stopped for drunk driving in Denton or Cooke counties in the state of Texas:
- DON’T agree to take the breath test if you have been drinking. Yes, you risk losing your license for a refusal, but if you know it will reveal alcohol in your system, this could be far less severe than a conviction.
- DON’T answer questions about where you’ve been or whether you’ve had anything to drink. In fact, DON’T volunteer any information about anything else either.
- DON’T agree to take a field sobriety test. All this will do is help the officer build probable cause to ask you to take a blood, urine, or breath test.
- DON’T forget that you are being videotaped and audio taped
- DO have your Driver’s License and Proof of Insurance ready. This avoids you having to look for them in front of the officer.
- DO be as polite and respectful as you can. Even if you know without a doubt that the stop is illegal, keep your cool and cooperate on basic instructions and any reasonable requests made by the officer.
- DO assert that you have the right to talk to an attorney. Officers may claim this is not the case, but it is your right to talk to an attorney when you are being accused of a crime.
- DO call an experienced Denton DUI/DWI attorney at The Law Office of Brent Hill as soon as possible
- DO remember that your license will be suspended upon your arrest for a DWI, unless you request a hearing to challenge this suspension within 15 days. This is one of the primary reasons you should contact The Law Office of Brent Hill as soon as you have been arrested for a DWI or DUI in Denton or Cooke county.
- For information on what happens after you are arrested, please visit our What to Expect After a DWI Arrest page
Keep in mind that if you follow these steps, you will most likely be arrested. The point to following these steps is not to avoid being arrested. Rather, the point is to help provide you with the best defense when your case goes before a judge. Your defense will be much stronger in a court of law if there are no blood alcohol tests or admission of guilt. Avoiding these two things are key to getting the best possible results from your Denton or Cooke County DUI/DWI arrest.
Contact our office today to schedule a free in office or over the phone consultation.